Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

ONLINE WORKSHOP: Kink for the Professional with Midori

April 23, 2021 @ 10:00 am April 24, 2021 @ 6:00 pm UTC-5

8AM-4PM PST | 9AM-5PM MT | 10AM – 6PM CST | 11AM-7PM EST

Get ready for two days of unique deep dives into the realities and challenges of BDSM as practiced by people today. We will explore the existing tools, language, identity framework and strategies commonly used within the community. 

We will unpack the personal assumptions, unspoken expectations, general cultural stereotyping, and kink subcultures’ own mythologizing narratives. These biases may be held by clients as well as clinicians. For the clients, these may lead to unproductive, unfulfilling or even toxic sexual experiences or relationships. For clinicians, this course fills many gaps in therapy discourse of BDSM sexuality, where clients often go unserved.

Midori will introduce one practical framework around language of play and strategy navigation of desire using Midori’s “BDSM Appetite Grid.”  Become proficient in an effective model of sex and BDSM negotiation where mutuality and collaboration is emphasized. 

There will also be a section on Erotic Humiliation play. In this, Midori introduces a theory of constructive versus destructive play, the emotional function of constructive humiliation, and a useful conceptual model for the client to better understand and engage in the play. 

Midori’s presentation will be frank and we are encouraging everyone’s first person perspective discussions. Expect break out discussions, role playing conversations, lectures and Q&A.

Over these two days, you will dive into:

  • What BDSM practitioners are seeking and the challenges that they experience
  • Practical, judgement-free framework and language of BDSM
  •  Improving cultural proficiency of North American BDSM
  • Understanding how clients may use Midori’s “BDSM Appetite Grid” for better play and pleasure
  • Learning Midori’s method of collaborative and co-creative BDSM negotiation
  • Considering constructive versus destructive erotic humiliation play
  • Gaining working knowledge of a model to conceptualize and discuss humiliation play
  • Frank and illuminating discussion with a subject matter expert educator with decades of lived experience

WORKSHOP AGENDA (ALL TIMES ARE CENTRAL STANDARD TIME):

FRIDAY, APRIL 23RD, 2021, 10AM – 6PM CST

10:00am – 1:00pm CST:

  • Welcome / Opening
  • Group discussion
  • Presenter intro
  • Weekend objective, expectations, agreements
  • Attendee intro
  • Attendee survey
  • BDSM lecture with discussion

1:00pm-2:00pm CST:

  • Lunch on your own with an activity to complete

2:00pm CST – 6:00pm CST:

  • Lecture, discussion, and breakout groups on consent, the Appetite Grid, therapy & BDSM, common pressures and challenges
  • Q&A / Wrap up

SATURDAY, APRIL 24TH, 2021, 10AM – 6PM CST

10:00am – 1:00pm CST:

  • Check-in
  • Q&A
  • Group Discussion
  • Lecture on negotiation and historical overview
  • Collaborative negotiations
  • Role play       

1:00pm – 2:00pm CST:

  • Lunch on your own with an activity to complete

2:00pm – 6:00pm CST: 

  • Lecture & discussion on humiliation play
  • Conflicts
  • Theory & framework
  • Attendee survey
  • Breakout groups
  • Q & A
  • Review of takeaways

Sexual Health Alliance

(512) 766-7603

View Organizer Website

Virtual Webinar

Leave a Reply